Cranleigh 10k 

My running has been steady over the past few months generally hitting the 25mile a week self-imposed target.

My sister pointed out that she was running a 10k in Cranleigh, so thought it would be a good opportunity for a bit of race practice and to see if I’d sped up at all.  The last time I’d run a 10k race was probably in 2013 at Clandon Park; my PB stands at 43.44 which I ran as part of my Surrey Half training earlier in the year.

With a 11.00am start, mercifully the temperature had dropped from the previous weeks when it has been hitting the high 20s. Overcast, cooler and with the odd drop of rain , not the best for spectators but much more comfortable to run in.  The course started at Snoxall field, heading down Knowle Lane, turning into Barnhatch then back along the old railway line path.

Not feeling the best over the weekend, my hopes for a PB we’re not high, but I duly positioned myself near the front of a field around 110 runners.  As usual setting off too fast and with a cheeky hill in the first KM, it took me to about the mile mark to settle down to a steady pace.  The field quickly thinned out and the course flattened, as I concentrated on staying around the 7min mile pace.  A difficulty with smaller attended runs is that you spend a lot of time running by yourself, fine for training runs, but this means you miss the boost given by racing.  A check of my time at the halfway mark showed at 21.18, just within PB pace and 18secs off my 5KM PB.  As we turned onto the railway line path just after I was struggling but trying to push on. Doing much of my training on similar paths meant the running surface suited me, but with a lack of runners around me I’d taken to self-motivation (ie lots of shouting!). Grateful for the 9km marker I was finally confident of setting a new 10k PB as long as I pushed on to the finish.  A final sprint to the line and the watch was stopped at 42:16 (later revised to 42.13, from the official timing).

It had been hard and hurt a lot but pleased with the time.  Shorter runs and faster speeds are not something I excel at but at least progress has been made from the start of the year. Official results show me as 14th.  Both kids also performed admirably in the junior 3K race.

IMG_2041

Race details and results can be found here.

One thought on “Cranleigh 10k 

Leave a Reply

