WDW Dopey Challenge – training week 1

In April this year, roughly 12 months after completing my first marathon in Paris, I signed up for my second.   Never one to make it easy on myself I also signed up to a 5k, 10k and half-marathon, the twist being that they are run on consecutive days.  The challenge takes place at Walt Disney World in Florida and is known as the Dopey challenge.  Now 18 weeks before the event it was finally time for the training plan to kick in.

As mentioned before I’m following the Higdon training plan, which can be found here.

http://www.halhigdon.com/writing/57107/Dopey%20Challenge%20Training%20Guide

Week one was always going to need a bit of tweaking following on from the Richmond Half last Sunday.  The plan stated a 3mile run on Tuesday, followed by 5 on Wednesday, then another 3 on Thursday.  With legs still feeling heavy I swapped the Tuesday run to a 3 mile recovery (forgoing the usual Tuesday night track session) and dropped the Wednesday 5 miler.  A steady 4 miles followed on Thursday, then a quicker Park Run on Saturday (still no PB though!).  The week was finished with 13 miles early on Sunday morning.

Week 1 total mileage – 24.8miles

With the planned increase in mileage over the next few weeks, I thought it was time to update my running shoes. A few years ago I had a gait analysis which suggested I needed support shoes, and have been running in Mizuno wave inspire since.  This time my gait showed a neutral shoe would be more suited.  After trying on most of the shop and completing a few laps of the shop floor I settled on the New Balance 880s. 

 

Looking forward to giving them a run out over the next few weeks.  Fortunately Sweatshop offers a 30day exchange policy should I have any issues. 

Leave a Reply

