Reflections

As we enter 2016, it’s time to reflect on my running over the past year.

A summary of my Strava stats shows I clocked up 1,328 miles, which I’m pretty happy with.

  

I only competed in 4 races last year, but hit my targets in all 4.  The year started with the Surrey Half.  A change in course this year, starting from Woking and heading towards Guildford before looping back round.  Flatter and faster, I knocked 10 mins off my 2014 time and 3 mins off my half-marathon PB, taking it down to 1:31.

The second race was the Cranleigh 10k. It had been a while since I’d run a 10k, but despite feeling under the weather on the day, I enjoyed it and managed a new PB of  42:13.  September saw the Richmond Half Marathon. After coming so close at Surrey Half I had the 90 min barrier in mind.  Training over the summer went well, and I felt good as I lined up at the start.  Another flat course, I set off too fast but managed to hold the high tempo till well over half way.  Floundering as I approached the finish, I managed to hold on, stopping the clock at 1:29:42.

As the training for the runDisney Dopey challenge started to kick in, the final race of the year was the 9 Bar trail race.  27km around Losely Park.  Mercifully not as muddy as I’d feared, but a hilly course saw me finish in 2:21:39, 4th out of just over 100 runners.  Throughout the year I’ve also managed to improve my Park Run time to 21mins at Guildford (run on my 40th birthday) and a PB of 20:17 run at Aberystwyth. All in all a fairly successful running year. 

Targets for 2016 include completing the Dopey Challenge next week, and hopefully beating my marathon PB at Brighton Marathon in April.

The taper for Dopey continued this week, so just a few easier runs.  Including a New Years Day Park Run, celebrating John’s 50th Park Run. 6 of us ran, ably supported by the rest of the family, on a very muddy course.

  

Weekly mileage – 15.2 miles

Mileage to date – 503.7 miles

2 thoughts on “Reflections

Leave a Reply

