Review: Injinji Toe Socks

Running socks aren’t the most exciting thing around, but there is a wide choice available. A few years ago I started used Thorlo Experia socks, having been recommended them by a running shop in Orlando.  I loved them, very comfy, the extra padding around the balls of the feet and heels, combined with the thinner sections to keep your feet cool, seemed to work well. When trying on some new running shoes about a year ago, they felt a bit tight so I dug out a pair of Hilly Monoskin socks I’d been given one birthday.  The shoes felt much better, and the socks (once a few more pairs had been purchased) become part of my regular running attire.  They lack the padding of the Thorlo (and my feet have probably suffered a bit as such), but they’re comfy and do the job.

Last year as my mileage ramped up as part of marathon training, my big toe and long toe, started to rub on the longer runs.  Not worrying too much about it I just made sure I added a plaster between them before heading out.  Having recently become tired of the plaster rubbing off after a few miles I hunted for a new solution and came across Injinji toe socks.

First the blurb:

We created a sock anatomically designed to your foot, and the five-toe sleeve design allows your toes to splay naturally and align properly, enabling greater stability and more comfort. We only use superior fibers that are durable, light, and flexible to offer superior breathability, which means cool, dry, and comfortable feet. We intended to create a sock that fits naturally, protects from blisters and is so comfortable you forget you’re wearing socks. That’s the way it should be.

Injinji offer a few types of toe sock depending on sport and preference.  I selected the Run Lightweight no show, as they looked the most similar to the Hilly Monoskin.  Again the blurb:

This ultra-thin, minimalist style performance toesock allows your toes to align and splay naturally resulting in a more comfortable fit. The foot will remain cool with the light and breathable mesh top that maximizes ventilation.The no-show length rests below the ankle and features a heel tab to protect against chafing and keep the sock from sliding into the shoe.


The first thing to note about toe socks is they look weird; its like wearing a glove on your foot.  The second thing to note, is that they are a real pain to get on.  Once you have actually managed this, they also feel a bit funny to start with.  As the socks push your toes out slightly wider, you might also find they are a bit tighter in your running shoe.

My experience with them has been very positive though.  You quickly get used to them once you start running, and they’re very comfortable.  I haven’t had any issues with them slipping, and my felt remain cool and comfortable.  They’ve also stopped any rubbing between my toes.  As I’m not marathon training at the moment, the longest run I’m doing at the weekends is around 10/11 miles, but I’m confident these would stand up to higher distances.

At roughly £10 pair, they’re not cheap.  I’ve currently only got the one pair, which are reserved for my longer runs, but I’ll be keeping an eye on prices and probably pick up a couple of other pairs in the future.

Overall they look a bit weird, but Injinji socks get my recommendation.

 

Leave a Reply

