London Marathon Expo

With a few extra days off after Easter and the kids back to school, I headed off to the opening day of the London Marathon expo.

I’d chosen to drive to the O2, then take the scenic Emirates Cable car across the river to the Excel centre. My plans to get there for 11am to see the official opening by Prince Harry were scuppered by traffic issues, but I enjoyed the ‘flight’ across the river:

 

As expected arriving early meant no wait to pick up either my race number or timing chip, allowing me more time to look around.  Marathon running Expo’s are like a giant supermarket for runners, offering all the latest clothes, shoes, nutrition and gadgets all designed to make you run better and faster!  There are a lot of ‘Expo special prices’ which are not always the deal they make out to be so its a good idea to know your budget if you’re looking to spend big.  There was also lots of London Marathon branded sportswear, and despite the high prices, I treated myself to a new running top with some left over birthday money.

If you’re running for a charity its also a chance to meet up with representatives and pick up some cheering gear for your supporters.  I’m running on behalf of both the National Autistic Society (who were sadly absent from the expo), and the MS Society who were a friendly, generous bunch, weighing me down with t-shirts and flags.

I also found time to chat to the guys at the runDisney stand about September’s Disneyland Paris Half marathon (although they give little away);  and also Tim at the Chia Charge stand who make some of the best flapjacks using chia seeds (a staple of my training diet).

There are numerous presentations on the Centre stage.  I found the ones by Geoff Wightman about what to expect on race day; and Martin Yelling about banishing pre-race nerves particularly useful and enjoying.

With just 3 days now till the race it’s time to rest up in preparation for the big day.

Leave a Reply

