Festive Running

With Christmas falling on a Sunday this year, the festive weekend meant a double Parkrun, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

Christmas Eve had one of the largest turnouts I’ve seen at Guildford with over 400 runners. Fairly tough conditions with a muddy course and an icy wind, saw me finish in around 21:45, so not a bad little run.

Parkrun on Christmas Day is becoming a bit of a tradition, providing a nice outing between present opening and settling down for Christmas Dinner. Another great turnout for a much milder morning. The whole family came down, 4 of us running, and the others spurring us on with Christmas Carols. Some great fancy dress around, including a Santa being pulled along by four reindeer!

 

The past week has also seen me start my next training plan having been very fortunate to get a place in the London Marathon in April.  Every since I started running many years ago it’s a race I’ve wanted to do, so I’m over the moon to finally get a place.  I’ve once again decided to use the Hal Higdon plans, having had success with them last year for the Dopey challenge.  I’ve selected the Advanced marathon plan, which is a fairly tough 18 week plan, comprising of 6 runs a week and including three 20 mile runs (in weeks 11,13 and 15).  Hopefully it’ll deliver me to the starting line in good shape.


Leave a comment